Lt General Andrew Gutti bounces as chairperson court martial

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The commander in chief general Yoweri Museveni re-appointed Lt General Andrew Gutti as the chairperson of the General Court Martial. This has come after the Lt General did a tremendous job at the Makindye based court. Gutti whose term of office had expired on June 9, 2019, bounces back for the fourth time.


According to UPDF Spokesperson Brig Richard Karemire, Gutti would serve with 17 other members of the court; ten officers of the court and seven reserve members.

These members include ; Maj Gen Joseph Arocha, Col Richard Tukacungurwa, the judge advocate, Lt Col Medard Bagambe, Lt Col Raphael Mugisha- the lead prosecutor, Maj John Bizimana-the Secretary, Maj Kamanda Silas Mutungi- the defence counsel, Capt Wilfred Karugwara, Lt Faridah Amooti Kiiza and  Warrant Officer I, Chrysostom John Kisembo.

The reserve officers are; Brig George Etyang, Lt Col Henry Nevatone, Lt Col Sadler Katono, Lt Col Lydia Nandundu, Lt Henry Bunalema, Lt Fatuma Njutti, and Warrant Officer Paul Katende.

According to [URN] Maj Samuel Maserejje and Capt AB Katushabe could work as prosecutors at the General Court Martial whenever needed.

Maj Maserejje was one of the prosecutors in the last term of the court but has since been dropped, alongside Capt Ambrose Baguma, Col James Rubahika, Lt Col Henry Serugo, and Lt Col Frank Tumwesigye.

Also dropped is Maj Sarah Navuga, Maj DM Karyabashisha, Maj Bagutanya Kakooza, Capt Teopista Grama Opar and Capt Paul Mugerwa.

The general court-martial is still holding onto various cases that are yet to be judged.