Women who are going to give incumbent legislators run for their money come 2021 elections

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Come 2021 parliamentary and general elections Ugandans shall go to polls to vote for their preferred candidates in various elective posts being competed for by various political parties and independent candidates among which has become competitive the women positions. However, incumbent NRM women are to face it rough if they are to go in a contest with these women from DP and people power


Nabukenya Brenda

Just like other DP strongholds, Nabukenya is yet to join the people power fact in order to reclaim her position. The strong DP leader lost to ENG Lillian Nakatte in the Woman Member of Parliament Luwero District seat .she commands respect from the DP fraternity and is looked at by most members of DP as a leader a generational leader. She is set to compete for her victory that was robbed in 2016 with her key position in the Dp reunion block and people power engagements. Brenda will certainly make it again to parliament although it’s likely to be very tough.

Shifrah Lukwago

She is a former Lord councilor and a lawyer by profession and renowned polemical activists who might get lucky this time to win the Woman MP Kampala seat. In 2016 she lost in the DP primaries to now the children affairs minister Nakiwala Kiyingi who went ahead to lose to Hon Nabillah then becoming a minister, Lukwago will raise back and contest for a political post with resistance coming from Stella Nyanzi. Lukwago enjoys support from most political elements. In 2016 she had joined TJ which didn’t give her enough platforms to acquire the Kampala woman Mp seat but her engagement in the various people power activities might earn her seat against whoever is to stand come 2021.

Flavia Namulindwa

This one is a presenter with Bukedde and the director of the dance and beats cultural group, this earned her platform to want and stand for the legislative position in Gomba. Namulindwa is using her influence as a presenter to groundwork and mobilizes voters to vote her in the forthcoming elections in 2021.

Joyce Bagala

Bagala is yet to join the likes of Munyanga Lutaaya, Kaggwa Njagala and other journalists who have vied for top political seats in the country, A News anchor and journalist at NBS television will surely give a hard time to Judith Nabakooba. She is articulate and commands respect amongst her electorate and the DP fraternity. The UCC attempted suspension from Next media group recently has boosted her candidature and come 2021 .she will surely make it to the august house.

Namboowa Rashida

In 2016 Namboowa stood as independent and she lost the race but her engagement with the people power fact might get her a seat in Butambala. She will fight for Butambala District chairperson seat until she gets a win. She stood and won in 2016 but was never announced. She has never left the ground and still interacts with her voters by engaging in various different activities. With her tight engagements with people power. Namboowa will just sweep Butambala District come 2021.

Lilliane Babirye

Commonly known as the iron lady in Democratic Party she is one of the few vocal, youthful, brilliant and hardworking Women in the Democratic Party. Lilliane is a very good mobilizer who formerly contested for Kyaddondo East 2016 general elections gaining over 6000 votes, she stood down for Bobi Wine in Kyaddondo by-elections after advice from her Uncle who doubles as Busiro Mp Hon Medard Ssegona.

Our sources in the DP camp have revealed to us that the youthful legislator eyeing the seat Woman MP for Sembabule District where she is already silently doing the groundwork.