Geofrey Wandera is the Busia LC 5 chairperson amidst controverises

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Electoral Commission in Busia District has declared Geoffrey Wandera as the validly elected chairman for the district after two other candidates decided to quit the race.


In a declaration form signed by Busia Returning Officer, Umar Kiyimba, Wandera was elected unopposed, being the only remaining candidate in the race. Wandera had remained in the race with other independent candidates Tony Ojambo and Chrispus Bwire who also decided to withdraw their candidature.

“I Kiyimba Umar being the Returning Officer for Busia Electoral District, pursuant to section 172 of the Local Government Act and section 19A of the parliamentary elections Act hereby declare Wandera Geoffrey as elected unopposed for chairperson, Busia District being the only remaining candidate,” the statement reads in part.

He, however, added that election for other positions in the newly created town councils and sub counties will go on as scheduled